The Society of Hydrologists and Meteorologists – Nepal (SOHAM-Nepal) is a non profitable professional organization registered at the District Administration Office, Kathmandu on January 16, 2002 (2059 BS, Magha 3).

The General Assembly is the highest body of the society which prepares the rules and regulations of the society and guides it.  The annual general assembly can be called only after a 15-day public notice and will need a presence of 51% the total number of members. Beside the Annual General Assembly, a Special Assembly may be called if necessary.

According to SOHAM-Nepal rules and regulations (SOHAM BIDHAN 2058), every three years the executive committee will form three members election committee to conduct the election for new executive committee. The tenure of the executive committee is of three years. The elected executive committee will be sworn in the general assembly.

The executive committee comprises 13 members, which includes Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, General Secretary, Secretary, Treasurer and eight members. Among the eight members, two members are nominated by the first meeting of newly elected executive committee to make the committee more inclusive and representative.

The executive Committee will hold at least three meetings annually. The General Assembly meets annually and executive committee presents activities performed, programs and budgets in the assembly. The Fourteen General Assembly  was held  on September 25, 2015 (Ashwain 8, 2072) in Kathmandu.

SOHAM-Nepal has been publishing a peer review journal called “Journal of Hydrology and Meteorology” and Newsletters annually. With grand success of two international conferences in 2008 and 2013, SOHAM-Nepal has embarked to convene first National Symposium on Hydrology and Meteorology-2015 in Kathmandu.